Mr Oh’s Little Black Book

With my very first Oh Week of blogging coming to an end, I firstly have to say thank you. To YOU!
Yes you!
Reading at home, at work, in public, in private, on your phone, on a print out or reading over someone’s shoulder, I have to thank you for coming along on this journey of random subjects made up on the spot in order to keep my mental muscles flexing.
Also, I hope I’ve managed to keep you entertained from Monday to Sunday. All your comments and RTs are greatly appreciated.

And this is the first of MANY Oh Weeks – next one… STORY TIME…

So for my last blog post of the week, I decided to go back to my whole reason for Oh Week… to highlight and promote myself as a writer and to also make you aware that all this writing is in order to make ya recognise that the Little Black Book trilogy is alive and kicking.

And will soon be continued with Little Black Book 2!

I always get asked, usually from church folk who’ve displayed heathen-like behaviour or feel guilty for liking something I’ve written, ‘why do you always have to write and talk about sex?’
‘Can’t you write about anything else?’

My first question is why would you ask that of an EROTIC writer?
Would you ask an R&B singer ‘why do you always sing love songs’?

I write about sex… that’s what I do… I’m an erotic writer… but it’s not ALL I do…

According to “the plan”, the Little Black Book trilogy is designed to get your attention, play with ya mind and make you PHYSICALLY able to feel it. (There’s no shame in being turned on when I hear people are turned on by my words.)
I made it a trilogy so you have more than one opportunity to catch on to what I’m doing and my ability as a storyteller.
The beauty of Little Black Book is that it visits different scenes of black sex in London that anyone anywhere can relate to. Sex is the same regardless of geography and anyone at anytime can read something and think to themselves, ‘yeah, that happened to me just yesterday’.
It’s not ALWAYS meant to be 100% accurate or realistic but that’s my creative licence. Just to write a story and have it’s background based in a London that people recognise and can imagine is what I love to do.

If I don’t get you interested with the first Little Black Book, and I somehow miss you with Little Black Book 2 then I’ll definitely have you by Little Black Book 3.

And once I’ve got you, I intend to KEEP you…

Because after the trilogy and one other Little Black surprise (I can’t WAIT for you to see that), I’m going back to my novel writing.
I say back because, if you didn’t know, that’s where I started. I’ve been writing for over 13 years and I’ve written two other novels under a different name (Who Is My Brother’s Keeper and Mind Blowing Decisions) so I’m dying to get my next novel finished and out.
And what I have in store for Who’s The Bitch Now? will further remind folks that there IS a black UK presence in the book market.
Just waiting for the right opportunity to show MORE folk.
Because, with no big headedness about it, I KNOW I write things that, if it was observed on a wider scale, people would LOVE it.

I mean, whether you hate or love Little Black Book, you at LEAST read it. You can still ask someone, ‘have you read Little Black Book? I didn’t really like it.’
But if the person hasn’t heard of it, then that’s spreading the word.

Though this may not be great for sales, I like that fact that Little Black Book is out there and people are slowly finding out more each day, but not EVERYONE knows.
My reasons are two-fold:
1)It means I have more work to do… and the way my mind works, I’ll come up with some creatively saucy way to reach ’em…
2)Because not everyone knows, it’s still like a little secret. Like you ask a friend, who you KNOW would like it, ‘have you read Little Black Book? No? Oh, okay.’

I’m an independent writer so there is no marketing department, no editing, no executive pulling strangs, no sales, no promotion, it’s just me.
So things like word of mouth, for me, are VITAL to spread the word…

Even though people like Eric Jerome Dickey (of who I’m a huge fan and even gave him a copy of my first novel) inspired me to get into writing (Cheaters did it for me), it is these SAME American authors who inspire me to keep going with what I’m doing.
For the LONGEST time, they have been coming over here, writing their LA stories, turning on our UK women, holding their attention on buses, trains and bedrooms all over London, stealing all the pleasure.

Well FUCK THAT SHIT!

I know there are UK writers out there with the talent and the stories to start a whole new X-Press style revolution of black UK writing.
I mean, shit, it’s not like black people don’t read enough and have the capabilities to entertain their own folk.
And with Little Black Book 2, I’ve brought through a group of writers who have written some dripping stories and poems that show what is coming from the UK.

I may get happy and all girly excited when someone reads my blog or asks about what I do but that’s because for 13 years, I’ve written in my spare time, in the dark, at work, on phones, and managed to get where I am right now.
I’m truly humbled by the things I’ve been able to do as a result of being a writer but I feel like all that has led up to moments like this.
I’ve got something REAL special with Little Black Book 2.

“The plan” was always to do something different with each book in the trilogy and make it different from the one before. And what I’ve done is made it more than just stories about sex. If you’ve read the first Little Black Book then you know what I’m capable of but if you haven’t then I’m yet to touch you. And touching new people is ALWAYS fun, yes no?

In my heart and my soul, I’m a writer. I write to entertain. To make people smile. To take them out of their own world for 200+ pages and make them feel the words before them. To evoke emotion and create conversation. Possible masturbation.

The greatest honour for me as a writer is to hear that someone read something I wrote and FELT it. It drills home the power of words.
It makes me smile because I write so randomly, there’s no real pattern.
It just comes to me.

So…

That’s me, that’s Oh Week (thank you for taking part) and this is Little Black Book 2…

When was the last time you had your eyes, minds and thighs opened at the same time?

COMING APRIL 2011

So says Mr Oh (Making Repetitive Orgasms Hourly)

1 Comment

Filed under Little Black Book Trilogy

One response to “Mr Oh’s Little Black Book

  1. JGR

    Mr. Oh, couldn’t find another way to contact you so…

    Please see http://www.preciousonline.co.uk

    Is it possible to have a copy of the book sent to us for review?

    Please let me know via email.

    Best regards,

Leave a Reply

